Outshyne Review

. .


Outshyne is a five-member band made up of a group of young men who grew up together in South Carolina. The band consists of members Waylon Owens (vocals, guitar), Josh Coleman (guitar, vocals), Casey Jo Kelly (guitar, vocals), Jason Paxson (bass) and Matthew “Smiley” Norris (drums).

The band opened their show with “Dirt Road Romance,” a song written by friends Florida Georgia Line and Arlis Albritton. The song was their debut single for their sophomore album, Starting Over.

The show continued with the band playing songs from their two albums including their first, Country Boy In Me, along with songs from an upcoming album they are still working on. The highlight of the 25-song show was “Moonlight Crush,” their first number one hit song on Sirius XM’s The Highway Countdown.


The evening started off with a local opening duet Tweed And Dixie. This recently formed duet may be new to the circuit, but these two men, Barry Forster, and Billy Gunther, are far from new as they are seasoned veterans as songwriters and musicians.

As Tweed And Dixie played through a 20-song set, their show contained songs for all to enjoy, with a wide variety of covers stemming from the oldies of Elvis and Johnny Cash to the modern of Frankie Ballard and Keith Urban. With the crowds consent, they also threw two of their own originals, “Only Daddy” and “Angel Montgomery,” into the show.

With Outshyne and Tweed And Dixie both being new to the Michigan music scene, this night’s audience showed their approval and established a fan base for both in the Marshall area.

Originally Published on National Country Review. CLICK HERE to view original article.